Supporter Form

Name	_
Address	
City	
State & Zip	
Phone	
Email	

Supporter Level

Please indicate support level below.

- Supporter Up to \$250
- Soil Savers Starting at \$250
- Sustainers Starting at \$500
- Stewards \$1,000 and Above
- Not for Profit Organization -Starting at \$250
- Government Agency & Agriculture Group - Starting at \$500
- Corporate Supporter Starting at \$1,000

All Support is Tax Deductible

Make checks payable and mail to:

Dallas County SWCD 1918 Greene Street Adel, Iowa 50003

Dallas County Soil and Water Conservation District Mission

To enhance, protect, promote, and encourage the conservation and quality of water and soil throughout Dallas County by providing technical, financial, and educational assistance to citizens and organizations with the goal of reducing soil erosion, improving soil health, and improving water quality.



HISTORY OF DALLAS COUNTY

Soil and Water Conservation Districts were organized as a result of the 1930's "Dust Bowl". With the eight year unrelenting drought in the early 1930's, over produced land eroded and blew away with the wind. Black dust storms covered the nation with little visible sun light.

Hugh H. Bennett was instrumental in the passage of the Soil Conservation Act of 1935. Study and observation during his career as a soil scientist in the USDA convinced him that soil erosion was a menace to long term productivity of the land. Programs where established assisting farmers with financial payments to apply new farming practices to their land. Conservation practices included planting trees for shelter belts, crop rotation, contour and strip plowing and cover grasses.

To make private land conservation a success it would take local farmers acceptance and the promotion of new farming practices. President Roosevelt realized this and in 1937 appealed to states recommending legislation to allow the formulation of Soil Conservation Districts by local landowners.



Dr. Hugh Hammond Bennett (second from left), first Chief of the former Soil Conservation Service, stands with former SCS officials next to a watershed project historical marker commemorating the nation's first large-scale soil and water conservation project in Coon Valley, Wisconsin.

Current Commissioners

Eric Wessels, Chair
Neil Hamilton, Vice Chair
Patric McNorton, Treasurer
Vern Tigges, Vice Treasurer
Veronic Lack, Commissioner
Sharon Donovan, Associate
Commissioner
Ken Herring, Associate
Commissioner
Kelly Thomas, CA, Secretary

Dallas County Soil and Water Conservation District welcomes donations in support of our efforts to conserve, protect, and enhance our resources for current and future generations.

Your tax-deductible donation may help provide funding for staff (such as our summer intern, technicians, etc.), the student scholarship award, information and education activities and materials, and other endeavors that further soil and water conservation in Dallas County!

Contributors will receive a confirmation letter and be recognized on our website and elsewhere (unless the donor indicates that they wish to remain anonymous).